Educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The statement asserts that schools ought to disabuse students from pursuing fields of study where they have less chance to succeed. However, I believe that institutions should let students follow their own interests.

Undoubtedly, the institutions do not want the students to be constantly frustrated during the study and have an abysmal academic performance. Schools always want the students to succeed, both for students' own interest and for the schools’ reputation. Besides, it is acknowledged that some subjects highly demand talents. Vocal performance, for example, is not a good fit for everyone, although some of the students may genuinely love singing and would like to pursue it as their major. Some people are born to be better singers than more other people. In such circumstances, dissuading students who are not endowed with pertinent talents saves them from chasing the wind. Nonetheless, this is not always the correct thing to do.

First of all, some students' talents are not so conspicuous, so they could be underestimated. Some people might pick up a skill slowly in the beginning, but can become a master of it once they get a hold of it. Or it could be that the school can simply make a wrong judgement. Albert Einstein, who has almost become a synonym for science, learned to talk at a very late age and was considered as not smart, dissuaded from studying mathematics by his middle school teacher, who is of course proven absurdly wrong. Elvis was also considered unlikely to have a bright career when he just started singing. But now he is certainly an icon of that era and one of the most influential and legendary singers in the history. Therefore, a wrong judgement from the institution could compromise a real genius.

Furthermore, some fields of study need people to explore even though they are intractable and require arduous work. Mathematics and physics, which plays a vital role in most of engineering studies and our everyday life, are infamously known to be difficult to succeed. Image if those great physicists and mathematicians were all dissuaded by their schools, simply because the schools were worried that they might not succeed, how could we have such rapid technology improvements over the history? I would not even be able to take the GRE test on computer this very moment. Therefore, only a wide spectrum of researches nurtures real scientific advancement.

In conclusion, it is rash to jump to the conclusion that schools should dissuade students from dedicating to an area just because they do not think the student are unlikely to be successful. This parochial idea hinders scientific researches, and possibly mistakes a student with talent as unsuitable for a certain field.