Educators should base their assessment of students' learning not on students' grasp of facts but on the ability to explain the ideas, trends, and concepts that those facts illustrate.

education has been one of the most important issues that concern societies in the modern life. As the level of education of one nation is an indicator of how advanced and strong this nation is and how likely this society is to prosper. In the education process, one main phase is the assessment, that is, just telling facts to students is not an incomplete education process, it is only complete when we are insured that students grasped the knowledge they are to be taught. assessing the learning rate of each student could be done by assuring that they grasped the facts and then they, by necessity were attentive while studying the content. one other way is to assess their ability to explain the ideas and concepts they are taught.

To begin with, if a student is only aware about the facts he is learning, and well memorize them, this can only be an indicator that this student knows the obvious meaning of the material he learns, regardless, the extent to which he understands the concept or idea behind it. although this way of assessment is easier to be implemented, it can't assure that the learning process is hitting the goals it is ought to achieve.

Understading the concept and idea behind the content that is taught to students can help them to learn faster and make the facts reasonable for them. it also makes it easier for them to learn more about something without the need for further explanation from a teacher. For example, if a student memorizes the fact that the speed equals distance over time, he can solve any problem asking about the speed given distance and time, however, if he understands the idea of how this formula is derived he can solve any problem asking about distance or time or speed.

Moreover, the real life exercises that need the learner to deal with, is always more complicated than what he is taught in the school. that is, he will not find in the real world the same problems he faced in his learning process with some specific givens and a specific question, he would find it difficult solving real life problems if he doesn't understand the idea and concept in order to be able to apply them in different cases.

In conclusion, although, it may be difficult for some students to explain ideas than others, this can be taught to them and equality between them in the ability to illustrate is attainable. given that, and based on the aforementioned evidences about the importance of the understanding the ideas and concepts rather than just knowing them, it is reasonable to think that assessing students abilities to explain ideas is more efficacious way to assess learning.