Educators should base their assessment of students' learning not on students' grasp of facts but on the ability to explain the ideas, trends, and concepts that those facts illustrate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take.

In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Conceptual knowledge is the fundamental in exploring different aspects of a domain. A student should not limit his learning only to factual data. The prompt says that a student should be assessed based on underlying working behind a theory than memorizing it. In my opinion, I strongly agree for three reasons.

To begin with, facts are a consequence of a particular phenomena. The rainbow comprises of seven colors is a fact. But the seven colors are basically components of white light being diffracted is the reason behind the phenomena. Learning these sciences, actually stimulates the brain to think in a novel way. One cannot just limit it to a fact and deprive it of further exploration. A student should be made to stimulate his thinking in understanding the basic concepts of the universe to realize how many unknowns are yet to be discovered. If a student is taught a topic and isn't aware of it's recent developments, applications, etc. The student will slack off in catching up to the never ending growth. Thus, it's necessary to evaluate a student on a multiple factors to understand his surroundings better.

Further, a student can easily memorize the facts and qualify in the examination without actually learning much about the concept. For instance, suppose a student is asked to state the three laws of motion, the student can easily answer them if he has memorized them and pass. Instead, if the examiner asks the student a particular use case of newton's law, or give him a scenario and expect which law would be applicable, the student would be forced to think and apply these laws. In this way, the student may apply these very lessons in his real life when faced with abject situations. Memorization is temporary and cannot be a basis for how well a student has understood a particular concept. The above example, illustrates how a mere memorization of the facts isn't enough to judge the students' learning.

To add further, understanding a particular topic is the most rudimentary step to work in that domain. One needs to be well versed with all the details of a topic to enhance it or make it better. For example, if a student enrolled in a computer programming course doesn't understand the basics of it, and ends up passing it by mere cheating or memorization may end up bagging a job in a well known MNC. But, when the time comes to write programs for applications, he may end not performing his task at the expectation. The code written may not be totally valid or helpful in any case as the student had just scraped through his classes and concepts. The example illustrates how important the fundamentals and better understanding of the concept are to sustain in the environment, and how this starts at the roots where the proctors evaluate a student based on his conceptual understanding.

To conclude, one may say that factual knowledge is necessary to avoid certain mistakes which others would've gone through, but one can learn a lot more things by experimenting and committing mistakes than not trying at all. Thus, it's important that the evaluators question and test a students' conceptual prowess ahead of the facts memorized by them.