Educators should base their assessment of students' learning not on students' grasp of facts but on the ability to explain the ideas, trends, and concepts that those facts illustrate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In the present world where we collect countless information every second, we are bombarded with multitude of facts by the news outlets, by the peers or by the digital media. While we understand the ideas behind these facts for some, we fail to grasp the whole context of a fact may be due to our incompetence or the field is simply large to understand the fact completely. The prompt recommends that educators should assess students' learning based on their ability to explain the ideas, trends, and concepts of those facts and not merely by the grasp of facts by the students. I agree with the prompt for the follwoing reasons.

Firstly, there are two ways of learing, namely - rot memorization, and learning by understanding the under lying concepts. While rot memorization can make the students get by in the short term, this method of learning has a determintal affect on the students in the long run. Students have the ability to grasp a large amount of facts in a short period of time. But such learning will not be resourceful when the students have to apply their learning to solve a real world problem. Mere memorizaiton of the facts does not make the students realize the application of the facts in a real world setting and such learning is no better than not learning anything as it serve the purpose of learning. On the other hand, when the students are in a postion to interpret and explain the ideas, trends, and concepts that the facts illustrate, the students will have understood the totality of the facts and thus, help them judge which fact can be used in which scenario. Thus, understanding the ideas, trends and concepts that are kindred to the facts can help the students fully assimilate the facts and use that knowledge in solving real world problems.

Secondly, ecouraging the students to understand and evaluate the facts with the help of ideas, trends and concepts can exhort the students to think analytical rather than just absorb what has been stated. This kind of learning will unconsiously imbibe into the students the skill of analytical thinking which is very important for a person to make a considerably impact in today's world. One's lifetime is not sufficient to learn everything upfront and then try thier hand at solving problems that the world faces. Hence, it is wise to learn only so much that can aid to get started without much hassle. In such a system of learning, apart for teaching facts, it is important for the teachers to encourage students to analyze them by studying the ideas, trends and concepts rather than just rot memorization of the facts as students will get to practice the skill of analytical thinking. Analytical thinking will help the students understand various problems in their profession and tackle them head on rather than turning their back on them. Thus, making the students understand ideas, trends, and concepts behind the facts will help them improve thier analytical thinking ability.

However, in the realms of our discussion, there might be an exception that cannot be overlooked. It may not be possible to understand every detail of all the facts that one learns in their education as some facts can be too complicated for their age or they may not be that imporant. However, it is imperative for the students to learn such facts so that they can help them understand other important facts and hence, it is sometimes fine to memorize a few facts only for the sake of larger benifits.

To recapitulate, it is important that the educators assess the students based on their ability to explain the ideas, trends and concepts that help better understand the facts as such learning can make students comprehend the value of the facts and imporves thier analytical thinking. Having said that, it is sometimes beneficial for the students to only study a fact as the fact may be too complicated to understand or it is completely related to a different field.