Educators should find out what students want included in the curriculum and then offer it to them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Education plays a major part in the economic development of a nation. Thus, it is important to educate children; however, everyone have their own interest of study, so the author contends that it is important to take students interest into consideration while organising a curriculum. In my opinion, I partially disagree with the statement for three reasons.

To begin with, it is crucial to take into consideration interests of students, since it will build a foundation in the field they are interested in and provide a bright future. For example, if a student is interested in the field of physics, educators must provide subjects related to physics. This technique will also avoid the waste of time involved by the students to get involved in other subjects such as economics, history etc. As it only focuses on physics, it creates a strong base for students to become a scientists at an early age. Thus, from the above example, it is clear that, interest based curriculum will provide a vast knowledge in the field he or she is interested, and it also improves their opportunities to get specific jobs.

However, Educators are called ‘educators’ for a reason. They are experienced in planning curriculums which benefit students. Hence, students should believe their educators in formulating their study plans. For instance, technology is ever changing and so are job markets as well as education. In the field of technology, robotics is a subject which involves building robots for human commercial purposes. Curriculum planners know the trends of the world, so they would plan to add robotics into the curriculum. However not destroying the basic curriculum which involves basic math, science and social science. There is no robotics without math and physics, thus every subject is dependent on the other. From the above example, it is clear that educators tend to add subjects that are much needed for the students in the future while also not rejecting the foundation which are the basics for the study. Hence, there is no reason to not believe in educators, since experience comes first, and students might not be experienced and well informed to make their interest as the best decision for the future.

Also, every student might have different interests like music, physics, biology, chemistry, painting and many more. Thus, it requires a lot of man power and time to formulate such course structures. For example, if a student is interested in music, educators must be in a position of eliminating subjects like economics, social science, physics and math. It is possible to eliminate irrelevant fields and add subjects like sound, waves, chords, instruments etc. However, if we look closely into the fields required for music study, it involves basics in physics and math. Picking what is needed and formulating the syllabus again is a laborious task. Thus, from the above example, it can be seen that students cannot survive in the industry without their basics of study and it requires years of preparation to formulate a syllabus for each subjects.

In conclusion, educators knows best and we have to believe their opinions about the education systems. However, students who are interested in a subject, they can join workshops or study as elective courses while not affecting their basic curriculum.