Educators should teach facts only after their students have studied the ideas, trends, and concepts that help explain those facts.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Certainly, it is hard to decide whether facts should be taught first or other factors, such as specific theories and trends should be introduced first. This question is also related to other complex questions including how we should delineate the word fact. It should be also noticed that in some fields, even the most prominent experts cannot conclude what are the facts. Meanwhile, some other subjects are composed of banal enumeration of chronological facts. Therefore, I think educators choose different approaches based on the characteristics of each academic field when they instruct students.

To begin with, the majority of academic fields in humanities and social sciences are filled with a myriad of debates and controversies. Although various adept pundits exist in such fields, they usually oppose each other in describing specific events or theorizing particular phenomena. For example, economists have not reached to conclude which models and hypotheses are most appropriate to explain the global and regional economic developments. Similarly, political scientists have diverged in dealing with international politics. For instance, some experts support idealism while some others espouse realism in explaining the major events in history, such as the Cold War. Given this situation, it is difficult to say what explanations are more factual than others. In this case, it is not feasible to teach facts to students and the only option is informing them of all major hypotheses and explanations so that students can understand the mainstream issues.

In contrast, several subjects do not need understanding a variety of theories and opinions. For example, in the case of describing the development of specific musical genres or scientific theories, it is enough to explain the agreed facts to secondary school students, and even freshmen. Although it is true that many scholars have different opinions about such topics as well, they can at least agree on several conclusions contrary to the academics in the aforementioned fields of humanities and social sciences. For example, most scientists do not deny that the basic conclusion of Newton regarding gravity while there have been added details to and revisions of his original hypothesis. It can be also mentioned that the experiment result of Mendel is still valid to describe the basic facts related to genetics.

However, in this case, the question arises again as these facts are compatible with other trends and explanations. Even in this case, it is not easy to conclude which approach is always more helpful for students. In the case of lectures in primary and secondary schools, it looks more useful to deal with the facts first and briefly introduce additional trends and opinions because the students in those institutions are not familiar with such topics. However, as for university education, it is vital to know many issues and ideas associated with scientific facts, especially recent ones. Therefore, the very first question cannot still be clearly answered.