The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Leaders are the people who have the ability to inspire others to perform beyond their potential. A nation's leader has the biggest responsibility of working against all odds to achieve equality, prosperity and better opportunities for its people. Thus, I strongly agree with the prompt's idea that general well-being of the people of a certain country is the key indicator of the effectiveness of its leader. The following are the three reasons to corroborate my stance.

First of all, the best way to assess a person's work is to evaluate how well he execute his responsibilities. For instance, the CEO of a company is evaluated of his capability to drive company towards profitable path while preserving the moral and ethical standards of the company. In the same way, the leader of any country is going to be judged by his ability to provide its people with better opportunities. Implementing effectively policies that can improve their lives. To provide an example, Nelson Mandela, the president of the south africa, fought tirelessly to bring freedom and equality to its people. Thus, a leader has to go to greater depths to work for the rights and needs of its people.

Secondly, a leader might be good in theory and at delivering speeches, but it is when a leader turns his vision into reality, he becomes great and successful. Leaders come and go but only few leave their mark on the world with ther accompolishments. This is best reflected in the massive work of Abraham Lincoln who emanicipated the black people from slavery and gave them a respectable status in America. His work was an embodiment of freedom, self-government and equality. Thus, the efficacy of a leader is best reflected in actions they take and not just the framework they create.

Thirdly, the most important determinant of the sucess of a country's leaders are its citizens. Its the people ultimately who get to decide if their leader was effective or not by casting their votes. So, it is in the best interest of the leader to commit himself towards uplifting the lives of his people. While others might argue it is a impossible task to appease everyone, however, that's not the point. The point is to work towards the society. And history proves it, time and again, that good work never go unnoticed. Abraham Lincoln, Martin Luther jr, Mahatama Gandhi all have been celebrated as the heroes of the world, and yet they were all assassinated by someone who disliked their great work. However, it didn't harm their reputation in any sense. The best judge of the work of a nation's leader is its citizens and thus, their well-being stands prime.

I do acknowledge that a leadership incorporates many skills and thus a leader can be assessed by other means, nonetheless the general well being of the people is the basic and foremost duty of a leader and if he fails at that, nothing else matters. All the greatest leaders of the world are great for one simple reason- they put humans first. All these leaders, in some way, benefited humanity.