In order for any work of art — for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song — to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

Art is a very subjective field and each artist have different objectives with every piece they create. Some create art for pleasure other create for lucrative purposes. Art holds immense significance in people's lives as it a source of amusement and positivity. Art is not judged on the basis of its merits or demerits. Keeping this in mind, I do not agree with the statement a piece of art would be considered good if is understood by every one.

Art is not a field which rests on logics or concepts that one need to understand. The purpose of art is to evoke emotions, and emotions are not related to logics or explanations. There are numerous reasons that requires art to be ambiguous and unfathomable to most people.

First and foremost, art is subjective and thus every individual perceives it differently. For example, a painting might hold different values for two different individuals; one might find it pleasant because of its beautiful colors and other might find it invaluable because of its it reminds him of someone or some happening event of his life. Secondly, the more complex a piece of art is, the greater its significance and worth is. For instance, if a piece of art is simple and easily understood by everyone, then people find it trivial and boring and, they loose their interest in the piece of art and consequently, it becomes cheap and worthless.

Furthermore, some artist create art for their own pleasure and thus, other people are not required to understand it. One clear example is, Winston Churchill, the former prime minister of England, was a fond of drawing paintings and had drawn a lot of painting for personal pleasure. Later those paintings were bought by people at exorbitantly high prices despite the fact that he was not a great painter and most of his paintings are inspired by his mood and feelings at that moment.

Having said that, I do acknowledge there are a few scenarios where is might be useful for the artist to ensure that most people gets his art. To illustrate, most of the films are created for the purpose of doing business and generating huge profits. If such films are not understood by many audiences, it is quite possible that people might not find it entertaining enough and as a result, films might fail at their purpose of generating profit.

To sum up, work of art relies upon individual perceptions and not logic and concepts that one need to understand. Moreover, people find art more interesting if its complex rather than simple. Hence, its best if art stays incomprehensive to many.