The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of the Quiot Manufacturing company claims that working hours for all of the three work shifts of the company should be reduced by an hour to bring down the number of on-the-job accidents. In support of this conclusion, the vice president reasons that the extra hour will be beneficial for the workers as they will be not be exhausted and will be able to relax more. However, before the author's argument is properly evaluated, three pieces of evidence must be collected and analyzed.

Firstly, the vice president readily assumes that the what applies to the Panoply plant can be automatically applied to the plant at Quiot. What if the day-to-day operations of the workers are simpler and less dangerous than the every day tasks of the workers an Panoply? If this scenario holds merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, the vice president also points out that if the Quiot Manufacturing plant reduces the working hour, the workers will utilize that time to rest and relax. What if they don't? For example, it is possible that the workers spend that time in shopping with their families or perhaps watching television or even playing video game. It means, the workers won't be able rejuvinate themselves as the vice presdent immaturely assumed. If that is the case, the author's initial argument stands invalid.

Finally, the vice presdent cites that Quiot plant had 30 percent more accidents than the panoply plant. However, this is just a percentage and thus, can be highly misleading. Unless the number of the employees working at each plant is not given, it is not wise to simply implement the policies of panoply plant at the plant of Quiot.

In conclusion, the vice president's argument, as it stands now, is flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the vice president will be able to provide the three pieces of evidence stated above and perhaps conduct a systematic analysis, he/she will be able to logically evaluate the cause of the work related incidents at the Quiot plant.