The emergence of the online “blogosphere” and social media has significantly weakened the quality of political discourse in the United States.

Political information can affect one's lifestyle by a considerable extent, so staying updated it vital for modern life. There is the number of media which can be accessible to remain connected to the world. After the emergence of the internet, access to news has become significantly comfortable. But, that also creates a debate over the quality of the report. Although, reputed publications have the better quality of communication, when we consider the adaptability, access, the speed and freedom of speech, "blogosphere" has way better advantages than its peers.

Traditionally only the reporters collect the news, and the editor selects the most promising news contents from the pile, because of space and monetary concerns. Many times the particular group of people might be lost the news most related to them. Besides, publications do believe in freedom of speech but sometimes to maintain their relations with politicians, they need to go off the record. Which after all damps freedom of speech. Where in free media like blogs and social networking sites, like Twitter, Facebook; People are more open and can hide their own identity if the news is confidential. Although the credibility of news publishing house may be high, if we are getting the same information from multiple blogs then it should be as credible as the news in the newspaper.

Another reason which supports the social media over the newspapers is the accessibility. The internet is way cheaper for its quality and number of services. In the family of four, if people are working in a different domain, they might need related printed media to stay updated, but with the access of internet, they need one internet connection. The Internet provides all the information at easy access to your fingertips. There are multiple options available for selecting suitable news, and furthermore, in the future, it can be changed. So, when it comes to affordability, the internet is way better than printed media.

In addition to that, the delay between getting the news and the occurrence of the event has reduced because of the internet, which has an impact on the quality of the report. Now it became possible to get news at flash speed, whether it be a political event, financial disclosure, celebrity event, science expo, or military mission, any communication can become accessible just in few minutes of the activity. It became easy to get more eyewitnesses now, and even police services can stay updated related criminal issues in town, early access to weather news can help people to make arrangements early, isn't this increase in quality.

The credibility of news depends upon the source, but if there are multiple sources of the same information, then we have to agree on the story. Although the quality of writing might be reduced over the use of the internet, there is an increment in the quality of news. Now opinion polls have become faster and vastly accessible, the comments can easily describe the related events or may suggest some opposite views. There are multiple services available which can summarise the news if one is running out of time to complete the entire article, and if some blog is interesting, another function can find similar news.

In summary, due to the genesis of social media the accessibility, speed, reliability, and affordability of information impacted vastly. The quality of news might not be static as it comes from different sources, but when aggregated it gives far better content which is free from any bias.