An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Vitamins are essential for life, and can come from various sources. The people of Tagus have experiencing the deficiency of vitamin A. In the response and international organization have developed the hybreed of millet, which has more vitamin A content. The cost is high, but government is planning to subsidize the rates, so that farmers can afford it. And author claims that, as the millet is a staple food in Tagus, the people will readily adopt the new breed of millet, which in result can help them fight against vitamin A deficiency. The author's claim seems fair and might work, however there are many underlying assumptions, if not answered then, might fail the entire mission.

The first arising question is to find the reason of vitamin A deficiency. Is it throughout the entire nation, or some particular area. Regular diet should provide all necessary vitamins and protiens, but if people are experiencing the deficiency of vitamin A, then there might be the problem with the daily diet. Before going further, first a diet expert should examine the diet carefully, it might be the only small change which can solve the problem.

The second questions is regarding the subsidies, will the government provid the enough subsidies to get the new breed of millet at the same rate. For some genetically modified plants the seeds of cultivation does not work for next farming, and farmers have no choice to buy the seeds again. Thus if government is not planning to provide sufficient subsidies for quite longer time, the solution will show only temporary effect.

Moreover, the author assumed that due to the fact that millet is the part of regular diet of people, they will readily accept the new breed of millet. There are many coutries which are not accepting genetically modified products for their regular consumtions, and there fear is also legit in some cases. It is also noted that some breeds have nagative effect on consumption for longer time. Even if there is no negetive effect proven, the belief or strong dislike for modified product might lead to lower acceptance. Thus might not solve the issue of deficiency.

Although due to the assumptions noted the suggested method might not work, there areplenty of possibilities to consider. In India, before a decade, they were facing the deficiency if Iron in the state of Andhra Pradesh. After trying many solutions they came with idea of mergin the solution with their belief system. They provided a metal fish to each household facing the problem. And told them to use it to cook their daily food, just keep it in the vessel while cooking. The local people was worshipping the fish, so they promoted by the fact that using it while cooking will solve your problems. This kid of scheme can be implemented for nation of Tagus as well.

In summary, before going further with any solutions metioned, it is important to answer all the assumptions and problem related that solutions.