The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position

The recommendation that first step to self knowledge is rejection to the familiar may be plausible to some extent. Primarily, circumstances determine whether this is the case or otherwise.

Human existence of self is shaped by our context, society, experiences and even our values. While the society has its way of defining life's facets such as success, propriety, 'coolness' and fashion among other things, our own self knowledge may be comprised at the most. In addition, these factors may shape us for the better, or in some case, deflect us from what really matter to us, at a personal level. The impact of these so called expectations may be negative or positive varying from individual to individual. To elaborate, the society has placed so much pressure on adults, many of who care alot about what people's opinions instead of their authentic self image, as such, many lead their lives in effort to seem or appear in a certain light. In this case then, the recommendation that first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the farmiliar may apply. Looking past the society and its expectations, may help the individual be authentic and really grow.

Peer pressure has been a part of us, especially those who are still seeking their own identity. Drug abuse and alcoholism is a perfect example of the negative impacts of needing to belong. The victims of these addictions likely started indulgence on these substances so as they could belong. In the process, they lose themselves. The recommendation would well suit those who are not grounded in their personal identity. That way, they would have to reject the farmiliarity of wanting to belong, and focus more on knowing and improving themselves in more beneficial way. Having said that, the recommendation would be advantageous.

On the contrary, those in pursuit of what the society would call chimera, do not have it easy either. They stand out from the crowd and do the unconvetional, for better causes. Instead of being lauded for the sacrifices they make, they are critized harshly, an ironic phenomenon. To be specific, in high school, the students who excel in their studies are alieniated and refered to as 'freaks' yet in essence they are doing the ideal. For them, their farmiliar is all they seek to break away from. In this case then the recommendation would nnot do them any good, thus rendering it disadvantageous.

In conclusion, what is being rejected determines whether the recommendation is helpful on not. Otherwise, the recommendation great and should be put into consideration.