The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of accidents caused by bicycling has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, there is clearly a call for the government to strive to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents by launching an education program that concentrates on the factors other than helmet use that are necessary for bicycle safety."

Over the entire duration of 10 years, there are quite a few things that have changed drastically which may have led to the increase in accidents caused by bicycles. Even if the data doesn’t lie, it is not reasonable to make a conclusion, that bicyclists taking risks, is the only one factor which may have led to these numbers.

Over the time period there is an increasing concern for ecological thinking, waste reduction, sanitation, major sign of global warming have also triggered and influence the way people choose to travel and also general health concerns for fitness freaks. As a result, bicyclists have therefore increased in number altogether, so the study should take into consideration all the variables that have changed during the performance of this experiment. Maybe the increase in accidents might not even be a major problem of concern, but something obvious due to the increase in the number of bicyclists. So, had there been a study which showed the increase or decrease in bicyclists over the 10 years, there would’ve been a clarity, as to what conclusions to make.

The need for the government to strive and reduce accidents is definitely a good idea, and if at all effective, it would only have a good impact on the people. But instead of pouring all of the resources into an educational program on a problem which only has a probability of being extant, the rise in numbers must be analysed carefully before coming to any final conclusions. The rise in the number of people wearing helmets is in it of itself, an indicator that people are also concerned with the safety factor, or at least there are laws which require them to do so. Also there might be a probability of some outlier data points, where there are some rash bicyclists. But the way to devise a solution, to the numbers at hand, is to analyse the results from a wider perspective and various angles to make sure that the exact actual problem has been identified and targeted, so a more helpful and efficient solution can be crafted.