Claim: The surest indicator of a great nation must be the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

Reason: Great achievements by a nation's rulers, artists, or scientists will ensure a good life for the majority of that nation's people.

Here, i’ll agree with the claim and its reason. The reason being that the most reliable indicator of a great nation is its socio-economic growth and the great works of its past and present rulers, artists or scientists have a really big influence as to how these cultures, traditions, mindsets flourish over time.

In a nation, the overall sentiments of a nation matters for building unity and integrity amongst themselves. A great ruler, is able to direct the sentiments of people in a unique way, so as to maintain peace within the society, he/she encourages a forward outlook, decides how the law should flourish and all these factors, over time, discipline the mentality of the society and dictate their present ways of thinking. Similarly scientists are completely responsible for technological advancements in the nation, which grows and expands the nation’s economic growth as well as its research environment, which is responsible for encouraging new ideas, innovations and techniques. I’ll also go out a limb and say that I agree that great artists too have the power to affect the the greatness of a nation as they have they help bring out the aesthetic value of the nation. Having the unique ability to actually implement the creativity in one’s mind, the works of great artists have an indirect emphasis on the nation’s cultures, traditions and mindset. This helps the society come together at subconscious level, all of which is made possible by great artists, painters, dancers, sculptors and so on.

All these factors help build a positive energy within a nation, affecting the lives of people in a positive way, from a socio-economic perspective. Which is responsible for eventually transforming a “nation” to a “great nation”. Which is why I also, strongly agree with the reason.