Educators should take students' interests into account when planning the content of the courses they teach.

Even though the students’ interests are an important aspect while planning courses and course material, I partially disagree with the entirety of the statement. There is one major thing which should be taken into account when course content is being planned, and interests of the students should only be a fair part of it. Planning of the courses should take into consideration the current research environment and the direction in which it is flourishing. Educators being the mediators between the actual students and the flourishing research in institutions or industries, they also play a key role in bringing the education to the students, and what they bring in, plays a major role in setting up a research path for the students.

Although, students are now-a-days somewhat familiar with the research scenarios which prevail, their raw interests might not be the best choice for them. While taking up courses students might not think of the foundation aspects of a course which would help solidify the later core concepts of that particular course, which might turn out to be absolutely necessary for them in the future. Students are not at fault to have such a mindset as the research they have been exposed to is the outer picture only, it is the partial knowledge about their particular course of interest which which gives rise to an “interest”. And so, meticulously delineating the underlying concepts of the courses is the job of the educators, which would be achieved when educators craft course contents keeping the aim of passing on the knowledge in such a way that students are ready to solve problems of any complexity within the course domain and a little also beyond. This is what fuels innovation. This is what produces the best students. This might not necessarily mean, taking the students raw interest into account all the time, simply because sometimes they themselves are unaware of what they need.