To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

I am in favour of this statement. One can study a major city and extract the characteristics of the society of an entire nation. Cities are what provide employment to a large chunk of the population of a country. Therefore, it is safe to say that a diverse population - folks from all the corners of a country - come together, settle in these major cities and this is what further leads to a display of characteristics that are products of mass intersocietal communication.

These major cities exhibit a summation of the society’s perspectives, motives and lifestyle. Outcomes of intermingled cultures and traditions is what shapes the lifestyle of an average city dweller. A lone city dweller manifests not just the signs of complying to cultural norms belonging to a single societal group, but cultural norms from several societal groups that surround him/her.

Cultures from all over a nation can be found in its major cities, sometimes amalgamated with one another. The characteristics found in the massive urban society is the mere reflection of collective rays of the traditions, cultures, occupations and lifestyles of individuals brought along from where they originally belong. This in turn, also influences the characteristics of those who don’t live in major cities. Therefore, the migration of characteristics from tribal to urban or from rural to urban, is what forms the basic framework of the characteristics of an urban society. These characteristics, though often altered to a certain extent due to the aforementioned amalgamation, might as well help trace the roots of the characteristics of a society.