To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

To “understand” the most important characteristics of a society, one must not only study its major cities but give a fair weightage to the rural life and culture. Every major city, before its inception has rooted from somewhat conservative rural backgrounds having a rich diversity in culture and tradition.

Some areas, now called “major cities”, had a geographical advantage over the others, in terms of trade, economy, easy mobility and thus became hotspots for technological advancements. So it is plausible to say that these “areas” experienced rapid overall growth, attracting a mix of people from the next nearest localities, this is what created “major cities” in the first place.

True, that when people move in large numbers to these cities, they do bring their respective social characteristics along with them, but when a lot of people with a variations in social backgrounds come to a place for their well-being, they generalize towards the respective cities, social norms, and have to leave some of their social background behind. Studying these major cities might give a “taste” of what the characteristics of the society actually is, but actually “understanding” it in depth, one has to go back to the roots, so one gets a clear idea about how, what and why the characteristics of the society is, what it is now.

Understanding the social characteristics involves studying how an individual mind in the society thinks, what are the aspects of the rooted culture, an individual brings with him/her. A whole and complete understanding of the society can be approximated, when these factors are studied meticulously giving equal weightage to major cities and its very roots.