The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch

Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in

contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams'

revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that

averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell

faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four

months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took

only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you

should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the

argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and

what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument, the author concludes that people should choose Adam Realty as their prior choice for selling house owing to its selling quickly and good prices. To support this conclusion, the author points that Adams has more real estate agents than Fitch and has less part-time workers. Moreover, Adams has a higher revenue and higher price of each house. In addition, according to author’s experience, Adams sell house faster than Fitch. However, the argument contains unjustifiable assumptions that might weaken the validity of the conclusion.

Firstly, it doesn’t make sense by comparing the number of real estate agents and part-time employees to conclude that Adams is better. Because we cannot define the success of a company by judging its scale, there are much company which has little real estate agents while has a great number of profit. Sometimes, little number of employee may means certain company has a much higher working efficiency. Moreover, the number of real estate agents cannot be representative of the scale of company. As we all know, much company nowadays has develop online service which save a lot of costing in offline working place while in the meantime improve the working efficiency.

Secondly, the stats showed in the argument may not be valid evidence to the assumption. Even though we know that Adam’s revenue is twice as high as Fitch’s, it doesn’t mean Adams had a better selling condition. Revenue contains lots of aspects and one company cannot only have one business. So the total number of revenue cannot truly reflect the revenue comes from house selling, maybe just because Fitch has less business but has higher house selling record thus leading to the difference between two company. In addition, average price of house selling is insignificant because larger house definitely will have a higher selling price. We must consider the average price of square meter of house. Also different region has different price, thus the comparing average house selling price is not importance. Moreover, the assumption based on the data of last year not this year which is not representative.

Last but not least, author made the argument by his own experience that selling quickness had difference between two company, while it is not solid evidence for the assumption. What comes first is the data is not that representative, author only use its own experience to draw the conclusion but not the data from all customers. Moreover, author compare the quickness of selling house between two different time spot, ten years ago and last year. Fitch may will definitely develop their selling process by last 10 years and we must compare the quickness of two company within one year. If author want to solid the assumption, he must enrich the data.

To sum up, the conclusion is not well-supported. In order to make his conclusion more

convincing, we must add or correct different points to the argument.