Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Formal education means the path that is created by the education system and experts considering welfare of all in one society. But formal education might not be the exact thing a society needs. Sometimes, out of the box thinking can help a society to flourish even save it from utter destruction. The formal education might not be the best for one person or society for three reasons.

Firstly, a student’s personal interest is very likely to be the most important thing to be considered. One can’t deny that the personal interest plays a vital role in his/her future. If a person does a thing from his/her interest, weather it is study or job, he/she likely to give 100% of his/her effort. But studying a subject that is way beyond of his/her interest, might not be as effective as the previous one.

Secondly, in formal study system, there is no level playing field. A person’s intelligence can’t be judged by a mare exam or a subject knowledge. If one has to uphold his intelligence, he/she has to be provided with proper chance and guidance. For instant, if a fish is asked to climb a tree, it will feel that it is nothing but a garbage in the system. But the fish has the potential to do well in swimming unlike the monkey who might be the best in tree climbing.

Thirdly, form history, any creative people weather it is Einstein or Leonardo da Vinci, Formal education has failed to deliver the best man for any exact purpose. It was the personal agenda of these legendary person who fought against the formal education system and society to get success in life. Apart from a few examples like Alexander Flaming, every intellectual person has rejected the formal education system and made out of history by himself/herself.

There might have evidence of failure without formal education as the out of the box study might let towards unemployment, but one’s solo goal might not be to get a job and live on doing nothing. A person should not compromise his/her success with his/her interest as he/she has to live with it, not the society nor the pioneers of the education system. So for the instance, I mostly agree with that formal education restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.