Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Formal education depletes the cognitive intelligence of the person. Whether it is in the school or the corporate world, a fixed set of curriculum does not help enhance the person's analytical thinking. Though formal education decreases the capability to understand out-of-the-box methods, it can help a person proceed in a guided way.

In schools, students start to learn from a fixed set of books. The text, which is written in the chapters, only gives a basic overview of the topic under question. In today's era, the teachers have made themselves dependent on the books, and therefore, they do not bother to guide the students to approach the same topic with different thinking strategies. Similarly, in the corporate world, the managers want their employees to follow a set of points, given the requirements specification provided by the company's client, to build a product. Sometimes the point is so specific that they circumscribe the employees to think of other solutions to the problem they are trying to solve. Therefore, this kind of monotonous practice in schools and offices restrains the thinking capability of the students and working professionals, respectively.

Throughout history, formal education has always stymied the person to think of other possibilities of a situation. For example, all the soldiers, who had participated in the wars, were trained using a fixed set of instructions. They were only allowed to choose a fixed set of melee weapons, and they were only trained in some specific moves to defend and kill their enemies. Moreover, the strategies which were made to win a war are more or less the same as formal education. Only the King of the city decides the approach of soldiers to attack in the war. They have only a fixed set of strategies, which become obsolete over time, to be followed during the battle. Therefore, this fixed set of goals and ideas, which become obsolete over time, have killed many soldiers, thereby signifies that formal education plays an essential role in restraining the person's thinking capability.

Though formal education has its degrading effects on the person's cognitive thinking capability, it can help irresolute students and employees. Some of the students cannot decide what they are going to study. A fixed set of homework can guide them to what to achieve in the next few hours. In addition to guidance, formal education can also help students to build their interests in specific fields. Later they can try to dig deeper into the particular subject and enhance their knowledge about that subject. Similarly, the employees who do not have any idea about a particular technology can benefit from its rich documentation source. They can certainly learn the basics from the knowledge transfer, a technique used in the corporate world to explicate the ideas about a concept from an employee to his/her colleagues, and can undoubtedly begin working in that field. Hence, formal education can give a brief direction to the person about how to begin working in a particular field.

The thinking capability can only be enhanced if the person is given an opportunity to think analytically. Bookish knowledge and a fixed set of bullet points always hinder the cognitive thinking of a person. Therefore, the person must be exposed to the work that can help them not only to think in goal oriented setting but also make them feel that they have really fathom something different from the usual.