The following is a memo from the marketing director of Lamfonz Pet Stores, which operates thirty pet stores worldwide.

“Five years ago, our competitor Fish Emporium started advertising in Exotic Pets Monthly magazine. Their sales overall have seen a steady increase of 3-to-5 percent per year since then. In fact, the Fish Emporium store in Gulf City saw even more remarkable gains, becoming the most visited pet store in the United States last year. Meanwhile, our two Lamfonz stores in Gulf City have seen sales steadily decline during the same period. It seems clear that we should immediately begin placing our own ads in Exotic Pets Monthly and other popular pet magazines. If we do so, we will be sure to reverse this recent trend of declining sales and start making a profit again.”

The argument that Lamfonz Pet Stores should start placing their ads in popular magazines to increase the sales just like their competiton Fish Emporium is susceptible to several logical flaws.

Firstly, the strategy of Fish Emporium to place ads in Exotic Pets Monthly magazing will attract more customers may not work for Lamfonz Pet Stores. Fish Emporium has enhanced the quality of several products with the help of research and development. However, Lamfonz's products might have gone obscure, and therefore, the sales is going down. Moreover, Lamfonz's only build products that suits a small set of market, but the products of Fish Emporium stores are built using the feedback from variegated stores. Hence, simply placing ads in a popular magazine is not going to increase the sales of Lamfonz Pet Stores.

Secondly, apart from using popular magazines, Fish Emporium might have signed contracts with popular Television Channels to show their ads during popular shows. However, Lamfonz's management might not have thought about placing ads in other mediums, such as television or radio. With the help of television ads, Fish Emporium is also able to attract the customers from remote areas, however, Lamfonz's has no reach to buyers living in bucolic settings. Moreover, Fish Emporium might also be sending phamplets along with the daily newspaper to the denizes of the citizens. On the other hand, Lamfonz might not be investing in to build their popularity via phamplets. Therefore, there can several other mediums - Television, Radio, Phamplets - through which Lamfonz Pet Stores can increase their popularity which in turn will increase their sales.

Thirdly, the statement that Lamfonz sales declining rate can be reversed by just placing ads in popular magazines is prone to the assumption that the store owners does not show propriety behavior to their customers. If the customers are returning just because the receptionist behaved rudely, then the Lamfonz's managements should teach the existing employees to be calm while dealing with customers. Hence, Lamfonz Pet Stores should more work on improving the skillsets of its sales employees.

Lamfonz's sales does not only depends on placing ads Exotic Pets Montly magazing. Lamfonz's managements must improve their quality of products. They should also consider ways to improve on their marketing deparment so that they can increase their popularity by placing ads in various TV stations. Moreover, they should also focus in building the skills of their employees so that they do not loose their old customers.