Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author of issue adduces that formal education harnesses the freedom of mind and spirit. This is the claim with which I generally do not concur. Among the countless reasons which give adherence to my perspective, I will delve into the most conspicuous ones in the following paragraphs.

The first striking point which should be considered is that freedom is based on the intrinsic willing rather than an external factor. In fact, whether a person is eager to seek freedom or possesses a free mind or spirit, are defined according to this individual’s internal manner. The main factors for the formation of internal willing can be listed as the genetic feature, treatment in family, and personal experiences. According to the noteworthy intelligent research conducted by the Psychology Department in the Tehran University, the feature of liberty seeking by an individual depends on the family conduct and personal experiences with thirty and fifteen percentage respectively. According to this research and discussed reason; making the connection between the educational system and freedom of mind and soul is not a wise action.

Another equal crux point which should be considered is the effectiveness of the education in brightening of the understanding. In other word, it is lucidly obvious that the main purpose of the formal educational system is providing the coalesce, proliferated, and informative atmosphere for enhancement of understanding and cognition by the people. Besides, the knowledge over a topic and issue is equal to shedding spotlights toward that particular information. Therefore, how it is possible to get a deep understanding of a topic and considered it equal to the restriction? Indeed, the chasm understanding is lightening the topic and novel realm for mankind, without which will be live in the domain of ineptitude and ignorance.

On the other hand, maybe the predefined scheme of the formal educational system which provides and highlights the specified information seemed a restricted zone which is against the main feature of liberty and freedom. This assertion while in the initial glance seems rational and logical; however, with precise consideration, its failures are bolded. Actually, there is main and basic principles and roles which define and control the world, this formal education is focused on these roles to make the students get more familiar with their surroundings. Consequently, there should be a specified program to deliver these data to pupils till they could get over them and with the combination of these main and basic principles with their imaginary thought, explore new realms in various fields.

To wrap it up, all aforementioned reasons depict that formal education does not restrict the freedom of mind and soul, and other factors are effective at freedom. Besides, the basic education broadens human understanding from his environment and leads to the exploration of unknown areas.