1. The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author according to some reasons advises that for achieving success in business, the firm should hire the employees with sleep need under the six hours. However, this recommendation cannot be accepted as it is in that it rests on a number of premises all of which can be challenged in one way or another.

The first problem with the argument is that the writer assumes that according to solo one conducted study the main reason for success in the advertisement agency is correlated to the duration of its executors’ sleep hours. Actually, this conclusion is shaky since there is no information about the study. This success can depend on various factors such as the presented services, clients, type of advertisement, and so on. As long as the writer does not explain the examination process explicitly linking the success to the duration of sleep hours is not acceptable.

The second problem with the issue is that the author mentions to different studied firms which depict the identical result as rearing clue for the assumption of sleep need fewer than six hours warrants the profit. This assumption also cannot be accepted since there is no data about the number considered people in the case studies, it is lucidly obvious the higher the number of applicants, the more reliable and valid is the result. Since there is no data about this number, this assumption is not reliable and accurate. In addition, even the scope of considered people at the studies is considered as high to make the studies acceptable there is another issue with the hypothesis and that is the difficulties and barriers of generalization of this finding to the whole firm. Since the feasible way of generalization and extending of a finding is the similarity of case study with the main population in whole aspects such as the gender, age, and physical ability; the generalized idea will not be effective as long as the studies firms are identical to the main population.

Finally, the conclusion is also skeptical since the term of prosper is a vague term which requires further explanation. The problem with this ambiguous word is which perspective of success is considered by the author. By consideration of the validity of two above-mentioned reasons, maybe the success achieved by these studied firms is based on the financial profit; on the other hand, a firm is willing to feat a prosper in an international reputation. In this scenario, the sleep duration parameter will not be effective for this firm as it did for studies agencies. Furthermore, the writer generalized the conclusion from the study about the advertisement agencies to other types of firms which is acceptable; because there is a variation between the affairs. Some tasks require more concentration; therefore, good and long sleep at night can be beneficial for these employees. Consequently, the success of some advertainments firms cannot guarantee the entire firm’s success.

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned facts illustrate that the author’s advice will be acceptable if he considers main reason of success in Mentian advertising executives, and there will be comprehensive information about the studies firms and their similarity with the main population. Furthermore, there should be an exact explanation for the term of prosper.