While the Department of Education in the state of Attra recommends that high school students be assigned homework every day, the data from a recent statewide survey of high school math and science teachers give us reason to question the usefulness of daily homework. In the district of Sanlee, 86 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week, whereas in the district of Marlee, less than 25 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week. Yet the students in Marlee earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are the students in Sanlee. Therefore, all teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

The writer of argument based upon some assumptions and examples concludes that it is a wise option to assign homework at the high schools no more than twice a week. However, this conclusion cannot be accepted as it is in that it rests on the lists of assumptions all of which can be challenged in one way or another.

The first problem with the argument is related to survey and its validity. The requirement of assignment pre day in the high schools is established in Attra state and it’s all high schools; however, this survey is conducted in two specific regions of this state. Since there is no any lucid data and valid statistic about the proportions of these case-studies to the whole state, this survey is opened to the suspicions. Perhaps these two districts cover solely 20 percent of the high schools in the state. Thus, this survey is shaped based upon the vague and facile information. Besides, the survey merely is focused on the two field of study and there is no any lucid data that these failures in the performance of mathematics and science are extended to the other subjects too. Maybe the students in the literature present their ultimate function by the daily homework. Hence, the daily assignment is beneficial is some cases. Either scenario provides a suspicion about the survey which is mentioned in the argument.

Another problem with the argument is that the writer superficially compares two districts by underestimating their dominant dissimilarities. Although in the district of Sanlee in the comparison of Marlee, the majority of the teachers assign the daily homework, perhaps the students of the Sanlee do not possess the sufficient educational background; consequently, the bulks of assignments cannot depict the expected outcomes. Or maybe the students of Marlee have the opportunity to get advantageous of the well-equipped schools. Their schools have the decent library, laboratory, and well-educated teachers all of which lead them to acquire the information in very short span and with less demand for reviews. Without accounting these and other possible dissimilarities among these two districts, it will be inaccurate to compare them without shedding a spotlight on these dissimilarities and consider them as the equal regions.

The third problem with the argument is that the writer extends the data of survey to all high schools, and considers all of them as identical. Even in a case which all of the doubts about the argument mentioned above are invalid, as there is no any concrete and cogent information to establish the links among all high schools, this conclusion seems doubtful and vague. Perhaps, the less amount of assignment in the survey is favorable for the students of that spot; however, there is no any explicit data that this system will illustrate the same result in all high schools. Perhaps, the fewer requirements of homework in the other region pave the path to knotty and serious training problems.

All in all, to persuade me that this conclusion is accurate, the writer should provide the lists of reasons and evidence about the accuracy of the survey, the main reason of the shortcoming in the Sanlee is related to homework, and all high schools share the equal features. Otherwise, all mentioned reasons and assumptions are vague and doubtful.