The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument stated is flawed because it assumes that all the business that will be affected by this inference are similar to the one that is surveyed upon making the assumption that firms that hire people who sleep less than 6 hours successful, completely wrong.

Every business works in a different way and the success of a business firm cannot be attributed to only one parameter like the number of hours an executive sleeps as stated. The skill of the employees, the quality of work among various other aspects are responsible for the success of a business. If a parameter like the number of hours an employee sleeps leads to the success of a business, it is not necessary that the same will hold for another business. An advertising firm will not be in trouble if their executive happens to feel sleepy occasionally due to lack of sleep but the same cannot be said about a firm that hires drivers to handle their vehicles.

The type of work in each business is different where an advertising firm can be successful even if their executives are sleep deprived as long as they are creative while making advertisements. However, the same cannot be said about a taxi firm where they require their employees to be skilled and fresh while driving the cars. The success of each of these firms is based on different parameters and their requirements cannot be put in the same basket.

The statement also assumes that all employees in all firms work for similar number of hours in the day. The number of hours an employee dedicates to his/her works can have a severe impact on the productivity of the business. An advertising firm may require their employees to work for 8-12 hours a day which gives them more free time in the day to relax. On the other hand, a taxi business may require their employees to work at irregular times throughout the day and often at night as well making their sleeping hours inconsistently long or short.

Therefore, assuming the success of a business is possible when their executives sleep for less than 6 hours while ignoring other parameters is illogical and bound to cause problems for a business and might lead to its failure.