Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Educational institutions are partly responsible for the future of the students and their success in the fields that they choose which is why they must have a say in the fields that a student chooses. However, this doesn’t mean that they dissuade the students from pursuing a particular field that might not have a great opportunities but is something that a student is very passionate about.

Many individuals have certain goals that they have set for themselves since they are young and entering a specific field might help them achieve it. They might not be concerned with the dearth of opportunities present in that fields since their aim is to attain their goals. There are copious examples in sports where the children, when they were young might have been persuaded to drop the sport that they liked since excelling in sports is very tough and might not have intended results. If they had heeded their advice we might not have had great Olympians like Michael Phelps, P V Sindhu and Abhinav Bindra. These are examples where not following their dreams would have been detrimental to their careers and would have left them feeling that their goals are unaccomplished.

Students having a liking for a field that is not in demand may not like the options that have great opportunities in the future. If a student doesn’t enjoy doing what he loves there is no way for him to succeed in that field. A student who loves to write and is good at it might be discouraged from following a career in literature since one might argue that the success in a literature related field is much tougher than say in computer related field. However, if the student doesn’t show any interest in coding or lacks the motivation to code, he will never be able to succeed in computer science. Therefore, persuading a student to change his field because of lack of opportunities will not guarantee him success in any other field if he lacks the basic liking for the other field.

Even if a student, falling to the incessant persuation of the college changes his career there is no surety of him going up the ranks to be the best in the field. He might have been better off studying the field that he enjoyed. With the probability of not have success in both fields, he might have been much happier had he chosen the field he loved since he would have been doing that he is really passionate about.

However, many a time the students are unaware about the fields that they are choosing since they are seeing it from an outside perspective. Someone who has been in that field or seen people suffer in a particular field might be better at gauging the problems one might face in the future. Colleges through their alumni have much more knowledge about this and might not want their current students to face problems in the future.

Having said that, dissuading a student from choosing a field of study that might not have a very bright is not best approach for the colleges as it can have detrimental effects on the career of the students.