Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

The argument made has made numerous assumptions in concluding that the palean baskets were not uniquely made by the Palean. The timeline of when these Paleans were present is not mentioned because of which the presence of the river or the depth of the river is not known.

The argument, while stating that the river is deep and can be crossed only using boats is an assumption which does not stand if the Paleans existed at a time when the river might not have been that deep or even existed. Had the river not been very deep or been nothing but a simple piece of land, the paleans could easily have come in contact with the nearby villages like Lithos. The presence of the period of existence of the Paleans could have helped analyse whether the baskets were idiosyncratic to the paleans.

The argument also assumes that boats could be the only mode of transportation between two villages. During the ancient times the there could very well have been different ways to communicate between villages across the river. These ways of transportation could have become extinct since the advent of boats which explains the absence of boats. However, if there was no history of any other way of transportation across the river, the conclusion could have stood its ground. Without proper research about the methods of communication between villages, premature assumptions cannot be made.

Barter system was among the most famous ways of exchanging essentials among different groups in return. Barter system could have been prevalent during the Palean when the items unique to a specific village were exchanged for everyday items not easily available in the Palean villages. There might have been several exchanges between the Paleans and the Lithos which would essentially explain why the archeologists found the unique Palean woven baskets in Lithos. If there was foolproof evidence of no relation between the two villages there could have been a possibility that the conclusion is correct. Had the argument mentioned the exchanges that might have taken place between the adjacent villages, the claims could have been studied further.

With the many assumption that the argument makes without taking into consideration the various reasons why the conclusion might be flawed, it cannot be established that woven baskets with distinctive patterns found in the Palean region were not unique to them.