A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Students, since a young age are developing ideas to shape their future and every student has to choose different paths to achieve the goals that they set for themselves. Requiring students to study the same curriculum throughout school until college is detrimental to their dreams and is thus not a good approach.

The students from the current generation have loads of opportunities available to them to succeed in any field they want. They start dreaming about this since a very young age. To realise these dreams, the students need to start getting exposed to related subjects since an early age. A student interested in becoming a doctor would find it more beneficial to study biology during school compared to history or maths. On the other hand a student aiming to become an engineer would benefit from learning more about algebra and geometry. Forcing students to study a curriculum that will not be of any use to them in the future is a waste of time and resources.

It has been observed on many occasions that a person shows dedication and motivation to work only when he is passionate about his work. Such a person is more likely to succeed in his job. Similarly, a student who aims to be a doctor in the future would show a lot of interest while studying biology as compared to any other subject. Forcing the pupil to study mathematics or history will only waste his time since he won't show any interest while pursuing these subjects.

Every nation has different problem and requiremnts in differents parts of its region. A particular region of the country might be facing severe droughts and growing crops might be a big issue for these people. Such a region might benefit from having a horticulturist in their region and students who are taught subjects related to these will be more inclined to pursue a field that would help improve the situation in the region. Similarly, another region of the country might be facing improper healthcare because of which the death rate in the region is much higher compared to other parts of the nation. Teaching students about biology since a young age and developing their interest in this field would be a boon for the region who can expect many doctors in the future. Having a similar curriculum throughout the nation won't work since every region in a nation has different requirements.

However, many students are not sure about their future till they enter college. Such students will benefit from being exposed to information from all fields and make an informed decision when they enter college.

The newer generation has different ideas since an early age and every region in the country has different requirements because of which the entire nation cannot study the same curriculum throughout school until they enter college.