"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The prompt states that while preparing young people for leadership roles in government, industry or other fields, it would be beneficial to instill a sense of cooperation rather than competition among them. Following this principle can have many detrimental effects of which two have been mentioned below.

When people in government have a similar thinking, they follow a path without think about other possibilities that could be much more beneficial to the citizens of the country. There is a possibility that there would be no opposition to one person who is leader in the government. To illustrate this, we can take the example of Russia, where the President of the country is so powerful, there is no oppostion to him. Everyone in the government follows everything he says without thinking twice whether doing so would harm the country in any way. It has been alleged that the elections in Russia are rigged because of which no other person can ever become the President. Such a situation is very damaging for the country's progress and existence. This situation can be attributed to the lack of opposition to the President when he was a nascent polititian. Had there been someone in the opposition to counter him, this situation wouldn't have risen. Therefore, competition is very important for the prosperity of the nation.

A country having cooperation among the government officials is bound to have people following a similar ideology which may be one that supports curtailment of freedom and rights of its citizens. A case that could illustrate this would be China. China has been a democracy on paper for a long time now while it is very well known that this democracy was falling apart. The current President of China, has become so powerful, that he has passed a legislation which allows him to be the President until his death. This legislation has deprived the chinese citizens from their right to vote. The current protests in Hongkong have been against this and other oppressive rules of the chinese government which are endangering their democracy and jeopardizing their future. This situation that China sees itself in would not have arosen if the people or the officials in the opposition had shown their dissent earlier when thing were taking a turn for the worse. Instead cooperation among themselves led them to this situation where they have to fight for their rights and democracy.

However, cooperation among the offcials in power and the oppostion can also be productive in some cases. For example, in India where the oppostion and the ruling party don't want each other to pass beneficail laws, they vehemntly oppose these bills in the parliament which hinders the progress of the nation. Had the oppostion members cooperated with the government, many laws that could have helped in the progress of the nation would be passed. Therefore, cooperation among the people in the government or the industry is a double edged sword which can have postive as well as negative effects depending upon the people involved and their ideologies.