To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The major cities have individuals from every strata of the society which is why it creates a diverse environment. It is true that studying the major cities will give good information about the characteristics of a society, however ignoring the people from towns and villages would give a flawed result. Therefore, to study the important characteristics of a society, major cities as well as the small towns and villages need to be studied.

While learning about a society, people from all strata have to be considered for the study. Focusing on major cities ignores the people living non-urban lives. Therefore to understand the most important characteristics of a society, studying only the major cities will be of no use.

A society is made of people living in urban, semi-urban and rural areas. The lifestyle of these people varies significantly in quite a few aspects. An individual from a major city will probably be using a car or bike as the major mode of transportation and on the other hand someone from rustic regions will use a bicycle or will prefer to walk to his destination. This and many more examples show how the characteristic of a city and village can be distinguished making it necessary to study both for proper assessment of a society.

Cities are predominantly made up of people who are living a better life financially compared to those who live in small towns or villages. Their requirements and expectations will thus be completely different from each other. An office goer in the city who earns well will prefer an expensive mobile to use since his basic requirements from a mobile are met only by a top of the line mobile. However, for a villager from a small village a mobile that has basic functionality like calling and messaging is more than enough. This shows the variations in the basic requirements of an individual from a major city and village which diversifies the society.

Major cities, however, also have a blend of people coming from different parts of the country and thus is beneficial in giving an idea about the society as a whole without having to study every city and town in the country to analyse the society. One part of the city will have people who have been born and brought up in the city and have mannerisms and requirements characteristic to that of a typical city person. Another part will have individuals coming from nearby rural areas or even far away towns for work who have been brought up in a rural setting. These people function in a manner that is characteristic of those coming from a rustic background. This diverse crowd present in the major cities itself makes it easier to study the society as a whole.

The major cities are made up of people coming from various towns and villages which makes it a feasible to study the characteristics of a society be examining these people. But the society as whole cannot be assessed by only studying these people since people not living in cities have a lifestyle and thus characteristics that are completely different.