The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument has made several assumption while coming to the conclusion that the time devoted to weather and local news be increased to its former level. These assumption have thus flawed the conclusion as there could be many other interpretations that could be made.

While stating that the news program has devoted more time to national news and lesser time to weather and local news, it doesn't mention how much time these segments are taking up in the program. There could be a possibility that earlier the local news and weather took up 80% of the time of the program and the national news took the rest. After the reformation, the local news and weather might still be taking up 60% of the time while the rest 40% is taken up national news. Therefore, the time devoted to the former is still much more than the latter. It would have been beneficial to know the amount of actual time that was spent for these two segments before and after the reformation.

The argument mention complaints regarding the coverage of the weather and local news. However, the argument fails to clarify the sort of complaints that they received regarding the coverage. The complaints could very well have been about the information during the coverage or its quality. The business manager has conveniently assumend that the complaints about the coverage were because of the reduced time. The argument could have given more details about the nature of the complaints received and whether these could be correlated to the decrease in coverage of the local news and weather.

The memorandum from the business manager also mentions that the local businesses who advertised during the program have left since the changes took place. Again, it doesn't give us a background about how the relation between the station and the local businesses was before the changes had taken place. If there was a strained relation between them even before the changes were made, making any changes to the show would have not made an iota of difference if the businesses had already decided to abandon the station. Assuming that giving the local news and weather the same amount of coverage as before would attract the businesses again is trying to be over optimistic. Had the memorandum mentioned the relations between the two parties before the changes, it could have been easier to assert the reason for the departureof the businesses.

Having made several flawed assumptions while coming to the conclusion, the chances of revival of the news station to its former self are very dim.