Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your positio

The topic raises the controversial issue of whether we learn more from the people with whom we share the same views. I concede to the speaker statement because disagreement in views can cause not only hindering the learning process but may even lead to stress. Nevertheless, difference in perspective can also lead to advance learning and one’s knowledge.

Admittedly, we can learn something good while respecting the opinion of another individual about any subject. However, disagreement in views in today’s society can even lead to personal grudges and animosity. For instance, if we look upon television debates about any social or political discussion, one group of individuals will be imposing their own views instead of listening and learning something about the other group’s stance on the subject. same goes to inhibit learning when two opponents have opposite belief of same subject but the disagreement on the subject needed for meaningful debate. For example, a partisan of communism will hardly be satisfied by the views of a supporter of capitalism.

On the other hand, a reasoned discourse and stress resulting from disagreement can bolster one’s learning as well knowledge. Assuming common ground between the two opponents about an intellectual discussion will result in advancing knowledge, whether at personal level or community level. For example, teenagers can learn from parents and teacher’s critical analysis of their homework. At the same time, parents will get the awareness about juvenile problems and their interest in daily life games.