Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

The Government officials are the representatives of the Government of that country and they usually do the things that should be done by the Government for the people of that country. Government officials are sometimes bound to follow the rules that maintained in the constitutions, but mostly they have the power to choose their actions based on the surrounding conditions. The prompt is stated that the government official should use their excellence in the time of taking decisions for the welfare of the general people instead of following the people's demand without using any judgment. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the prompt that the government officials should not follow the people's word without any question, rather than they should listen everyone's opinion and then they should use their judgment because of the following two reasons.

Firstly, the Government officials are recruited by the public commissions of that country after different layers of examination which includes written and oral as well. After showing the capabilities of critical thinking and reasoning power the government officials get the chance to serve the people of an area where they have been posted after the completion of joining procedure. They have the thinking power in critical situations and the government has recruited them because they can tackle the worst scenario using their judging power. For example, a school going poor boy from a rural area have theft something out of hunger and get caught by the local people. Initially, the boy will be taken to the police station for the punishment and for taking other legal actions against the boy. In this case the local people will ask for the punishment of that boy, but the police can’t just follow the local people's words and take actions against that little boy. The police need to investigate the situations, should talk with the victim, should look for an eye witness, and after all that the police should look after the constitution for the severity of the punishment the boy should get. So, the police need to use their own judgment in such cases, otherwise, there can be a huge mistakes like taking wrong actions in wrong time against the wrong people because most of the time people instigate by the situations and don't think rationally.

Secondly, when government officials start to follow the words of people, then people won't take them seriously and the possibilities of immoral work will increase eventually. For example, when a criminal murdered someone, he wouldn't get frightened by the law systems as he/she know that they can control the government officials like the police, the judge etc. In such cases, they will try to give money to the government officials to withdraw the cases against them.

This will hamper the usual situations of the society and have a negative impact on the people. Then other people will do miscreants without any afraid this will break the harmony in the society. So, how come anyone say that the government officials should follow the people's word without using their judgmental power?

Some may argue that the government officials can misuse their power if people don't have any say against them. It may be true but in every case there is a similar percentage of possibilities of positive and negative impact. Since the government officials are bound to follow the constitutions, there will be transparency of their actions.

Finally, the government officials are more rational thinker than the general people and the government give them the power to take decisions for the people based on their talent and excellence. So, the government officials should use their judgment to solve problems, it will maintain the unity and peace between the people and the government.