Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

There are several reasons why governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today. Primarily, every country has a plethora of pressing issues where many people’s lives are at stake. Such problems must be solved immediately and without delay. In addition, it can be very difficult to accurately anticipate the problems of the future. Therefore, the government should turn their attention toward the problems of today rather than to attempt to solve anticipated problems of the future.

Firstly, countries are faced with many significant, complex issues that affect the lives of their citizens. For every second that wasted, another individual suffers from the effects of discrimination, poverty, malnourishment, and other basic needs. One only needs to turn on the TV for a few minutes to see stories of police brutality, homelessness, and rioting. If the government focuses on solving these pressing issues, they can influence a generation of people who can build society up for the coming future.

Secondly, anticipating problems of the future is an elusive task. No one can accurately predict the future with 100 percent certainty. Although some highly educated individuals may have the inchoate inklings of a general direction, it is impossible for anyone to fathom specific details about the future. Due to the fallibility of anticipation, a government can easily make a poor decision when trying to solve a future problem. One example of this was the American attack on Iraq after the September 11th terrorist bombings. The USA had thought that Iraq had developed “weapons of mass destruction.” In an attempt to preemptively prevent a large scale war, the America decided to invade this Middle Eastern country. However, to this day, none of these weapons were ever discovered.

Although it is important for governments to solve the problems of today, completely neglecting any anticipated problems can also be detrimental to a nation. When devising a remedy to any issue, government officials must consider the consequences to the best of their ability. Most often, it is better to have a permanent solution that carries well into the future rather than a temporary, “band-aid” type of answer. For example, when fighting discrimination in the United States, the Supreme Court issuing an order of “separate but equal” rather than integrating both races only served to fuel racial tensions. This tensionculminated in the Dr. King era, where many more riots and fights occurred. Therefore, although a country must focus on the problems of today, their solutions must consider the effects well into the future.

In conclusion, a government should focus primarily on the problems that it faces today. Since many of these important issues are time-sensitive, a nation has the duty to assist its current citizens in having a better life immediately. In addition, many of the future problems cannot be anticipated with any degree of accuracy. Therefore, a country should focus its effort of the problems of today.