Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Currently, it is debatable whether governments should put their efforts to solve the immediate problems rather than the anticipated problems of the future. Some people argue that the governments should focus on the future problems since the exacerbation of those problems can possibly threaten people all around the world, while others disagree with them and argue for prevent the immediate problems of today. Personally, I assert that both problems are crucial and governments should take extensive measures to prevent both of them.

To begin with, the immediate problems that our societies are confronted with are definitely resolved by the governments. For example, when the swine flue was initiated in the United States, many people in the U.S. and all around the world were concerned about this immediate issue. Since the impact of the swine flu was extremely severe, lives of many people were threatened. To solve this problem, the government of the United States put incessant efforts to reduce the number of people who were diagnose with the flu and eventually, ended the fear of this disease. If the U.S. government did not decided to face with this immediate problem, many lives would be sacrificed and people would be still afraid of this pandemic. Therefore, government should participate in solving the immediate concerns.

In addition to this, concentrating on immediate problem is essential when the society suffers from economic hardship. During the Great Depression, many people in the United States were mired in poverty. Thousands of people were strapped for cash and the unemployment rate was higher than ever. To solve this immediate problem, president Roosevelt and the U.S. government implemented the New Deal Plan, which fostered the economic growth in the United States. Without this effort of resolving adverse economy, the United States would not become the hegemony of the world in this present day and age.

Nevertheless, governments should also focus on stopping the anticipated problems of the future. To illustrate, along with the advent of the globalization and development of technology, our societies are confronting with the problem of global warming. Although no immediate threat is revealed, general consensus of scientists anticipate that the global warming is on progress, and it will eventually endanger lives of future generation. To stop this problem, governments of different nations started the Tokyo Protocols, which enforce the reduction of greenhouse gas emissions that hasten the global warming. Without the governments’ endeavors to overcome this future problem, our environment would be deteriorating at an unprecedented speed. Therefore, future problems should be also taken care of by governments.

In conclusion, rather than considering these two problems as separate, government should focus on both immediate and future problems for the welfare of their citizens.