Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

The government is for the people, by the people and from the people. We entrust our leaders to do what’s just and best for our society as a whole. It is no surprise, that when the budget for the consecutive year is presented, apex members of any sector is pays a behemoth interest on it – they define the functioning of the system for the next year or years. The prompt suggests that the government should focus on immediate problem resolution rather than focusing on the future problems, I mostly agree with this point. The above is because of three reasons.

In developing countries today, the problem of electricity, water scarcity, healthcare services are absent, thus we need to focus on it for ensuring a better functioning society. In many remote places such as Rajasthan in India, there is a huge problem of electricity and poor healthcare services. In many cases due to elevated temperatures of above forty-five degrees Celsius, many infants get the catalyst effects from it and as a result it leads in nose bleeds, fainting, heavy fevers, etc. and due to insufficient healthcare services many infants become pray to these inhospitable conditions and eventually die. The situation exacerbates as the water supply is relatively low when compared with other states. Due to low access to water, many housewives travel a long distance to get a good chunk of water for their family survival – they cannot merely just buy water from the vendors, as they are focusing on practicing reverse redlining; price of good quality water is very high, which cannot be afforded by majority in the poverty region – and the water quality is often low. The above example demonstrates that the government should focus on today’s problem rather than focusing on the future, as the growth of society remains in the hands of proper functioning individuals, and if we cannot provide them life surviving facilities, the question of how economic growth will happen remains a conundrum – as people will be focusing on getting these facilities rather can contributing to the society as a whole. Thus, the government must ensure that today’s problems such as electricity, water and better healthcare be available to the remote locations so that our society can grow as a whole.

In many developed countries today, the quality resources available are constrained. The so called “Quality Life” implies that we have access to better quality: roads, transportation services, rail connectivity and retirement. In many countries even today, the so called quality life is missing. For instance, Mumbai is a metropolitan city, many individuals across the country and the globe come here for lucrative business or job perspective, the tourism itself is very high. But, however, there is a lot of problem with the number of trains – it will be evident to a person when they get an opportunity to travel in a local train, the local trains are overflowing with people and what’s concerning more is that the fatality rates are increases of these travelers. Moreover, the other factors such as retirement also directs people to abscond from the country, as the current retirement plans do not attract more individuals to continue. Thus, the government should focus on today’s issue at hand before moving onto next big thing.

As we are progressing into the future generation, the current job perspective will not sustain. It can be evident from the history; that the “current trend” perishes quickly in the near future. For instance “Mining” was at boom forty years ago the trainings and teachings of it were highly effective and this attracted many people because of lucrative job perspectives, however over the next few years the field didn’t receive a great deal of lucid attractions, thus as a result the people moved to different field. The government had to make a lot of changes to ensure that the people were qualified for this change. For instance, computer science was miniscule about forty years ago, whereas its eminence is echoed throughout our daily lives today. The introduction of the above field led to introduction of new technologies, new working styles which were absent before its presence – individuals working on pen, paper faced a lot of problem when initial database directed systems were introduced, many switched jobs, the computer based approaches required a prerequisite training which were given by many government institution freely. Thus, the above example illustrates that the government should look out for the future problems as well.

However, one can argue that the future perspective is needed to ensure better quality and job perspectives for the youth. But, perhaps the economy will function a lot better if a way can be derived to attain both of these at the same. Thus, the society as a whole will prosper. The question which raises is whether we can sustain the future growth with these new technological innovations? The historic evidence seems to champion it.