Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Government is a body that governs the rules and regulations of a state in the interest of the people. It sets some targets for the common well-being of all the citizens and tries to bring the less privileged at par with others. Our history reflects that there are plenty of discoveries from the scientist who were not looking for the one they discovered. The research held to discover something resulted in something more wonderful. Hence government should fund any scientific research even when consequences are unclear.

Microwave is an accidental discovery, Percy Spencer, was known as electronics genius. While he was working on radar related project, he was testing a new vacuum tube, he discovered that a chocolate bar he had in his pocket melted more quickly than he would have expected. He became intrigued and started experimenting by aiming the tube at other items: eggs, popcorn etc. This led to the discovery of Microwave, which has become very important in our day to day lives. The other amazing discovery which is considered as the boon to medical field is X-ray. German physicist was working on cathode ray tube. One day despite the fact that the tube was covered, he noticed that the nearby fluorescent screen would glow when the tube was on and the room was dark. He tried keeping many objects to test: box, books, wood piece etc. when he kept his hand in front of the tube he could see his bones on the screen. This is how X-ray was discovered.

Furthermore, technology has revolutionized the world, surely there has been no time in history where the lives of people have changed more dramatically. There is no day in which we don’t use technology. Computer that processes information on silicon bridges that are 0.09 microns wide, has become the vital part of this generation. If the scientist who discovered the computer, sat with fear of failing then I wouldn’t be sitting here in front of the computer to write this.

Even though the scientist will not condone that their discovery is by accident all the time but there are cases even the accidental discoveries turned out be the amazing ones. Funding to any such researches will help the nation in one or the other way. It is only through research that we can make progress. All the researches held by scientist will not bring success, there will be failures, there will be losses, there will be consequences, but fear of losing should not stop anyone neither the government nor the scientists.

Known is a drop; unknown is an ocean. To sum it all, I will not agree with the author’s claim that government should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear. Certainly, there are many medical, agricultural and space research led to one another and resulted in great discoveries.