Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Education is fundamental for the social and professional development of individuals and for the intellectual and technical advancement of society. Education should be an investment by the government and offered freely to all students. The current high-cost higher degree educational system has proven inefficient and harmful to our citizens. A free and reformed higher-education system is an urging necessity and desire of this country.

To start, the cost of higher-education in this country is exorbitant. In order to pay those installments, students take loans which they have to live with for decades or even their entire lives. The burden of unreasonable and expensive loans has become a common narrative of the education process in the USA. Stories about students who are suffering financially and psychologically because of their inability to repay due to the many circumstances in life such as loss of job or poor health are saddening and unjustifiable. Students shouldn’t be suffering for studying. Their desire is to learn, acquire knowledge, advance intellectually and professionally, yet the cost and risk involved in the process is unfair. Unjust is also the American Bankruptcy system. Student loans are not forgiven under the bankruptcy law. In other words, individuals who file for bankruptcy, who are clearly declaring that are financially broken, still have to manage to repay their student debt throughout their lives.

The burden of student loans also stiff and influence heavily on the career choices of students. The financial worry robs students from the true freedom of choice. How many times did we listen to stories filled with regret of people who decided on a financially rewarding career over a field of study they were more passionate about? People become a Wall-street banker over a violinist or a private lawyer over a public interest advocate because there are student loans and other bills to be paid. If government freed the young generation from this heavy debt, they wouldn’t excessively consider the financial aspect, but rather consider pursuing personally rewarding careers.

A thriving society is composed by a variety of professionals who can undertake crucial services, researches, and advancements in all the different fields. Unless the government financially sponsors students to choose their interests over remuneration and support a diverse community of professionals, students will still seek after high-remunerating careers to pay off their high-cost education.

A free higher-education is to be provided to the population by the government. It releases students and families from heavy loan debts and from the pressure to choose financially rewarding careers over their passion and interests. In this way, not only the students and their family will be benefited, but the entire population will gain richness and diversity of the different career fields becoming a more wholesome society.