Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

The educational institutions' purpose is to instruct, provide knowledge, and offer exposure of different fields of study to students so that they are able to choose a specific career with discernment. It is not the responsibility of the educational system, be it instructors or institutions, to discourage students regardless of their choices. Guidance and persuasion, in this case dissuasion, are very distinct actions. The former opens up possibilities, exposing students to the many potential paths, and giving them feedback without pressure, while the latter inputs pressure, convincing, and judgement to influence the students' decision making process. The educational institutions are not to have responsibility nor to dissuade students on their choices. It's the student's responsibility and freedom to make their career path decisions.

First, human predictions about one's success in the future are unreliable. In the same way, both teachers and educational institutions do not have the capacity to predict and foresee accurately any student's future, therefore they do not have responsibility to discourage students on their choices. Stories such as of Albert Einstein who during childhood did not perform well in math courses and during early adulthood was not able to secure a high-skilled job after graduation are evidence that human potential is not easily identifiable when not fully developed.

Furthermore, teachers and professors are not to dissuade, but to offer guidance and share their experiences with students in order to shed light on the advantages and challenges of different fields of study, so students are aware and more prepared for what awaits for them in their future career paths. Instructors can help students to navigate the various fields of interest, but teachers are not to discourage nor prevent students from their interests and choices whether they seem to have a potential for success or not.

Lastly, educational institutions play an important role in students' career choices by offering opportunities and tools to explore different areas of study. Internships, for instance, are valuable opportunities for students to delve into certain fields of interest, to acquire relevant experiences, and to gain feedback on their abilities. Through these personal lessons, rather than external dissuasion, students will be able to choose their careers reasonably. The educational institutions are to provide opportunities and room for students to experiment rather than judgement and discouragement about their choices.

Deciding a career path can be a complicated and long journey, yet it's an internal journey of oneself to discover one's interest, abilities, and mission. Educational institutions and teachers play a supporting role providing guidance, information, and opportunities to explore fields of study. The ultimate responsibility of choosing an area of interest and dealing with the consequences of that decision, whether be it success or not, falls under the student and not the educational institution.