Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Education is one of the basic needs of life. In an era when science and technology is engrossed in every nuance of our life the need to evolve is ever-growing. This makes education no longer a wish rather it has become a need. Education has now become an important tool of survival. Although our grandfathers could have made by without education, we can hardly imagine scratching out a living without education when even a trivial job requires some skill. In this context providing education free of cost to everyone sounds very logical.

We are living in the twenty-first century when globalization and free markets have created opportunity that anyone can exploit to climb up the economic ladder. We can point out several examples of such progress. Recently, in one of my research tour I met a business man who used to sell newspaper in the sultry summer during his teenage days. I cannot afford to forget the fact how the education he acquired struggling in those streets was helpful in guiding his steps to this condition.

However, many people might not even get the job like selling newspaper to fund their education though many of them posses both ability and passion to pursue education. For instance, I had a friend who, without parents to support him for education, was funded by the donor organization until secondary level. He was very sharp and possesses the level of enthusiasm for study that barely anyone in our class had. He dreamt of becoming a doctor. However, despite his capabilities he had to give upon his dream as there was no one to fund his higher studies. If only there was a provision of free education, our country would have a very skilled doctor in future.

The proponent of the above argument might argue that making education free might decrease the motivation for continuing the study. Or in other way students might easily drop out of the education that they never paid for. But can’t we afford to trade-off these few students for the large number of passionate ones who are hungry for education? The other argument that the exponents might make is that the public spending would be very large in that context. However, won’t the spending made in present days would create huge number of the skilled manpower in the future that would boost country’s economy tremendously? Everyone of knows the answer and subsequently the need of education to be free and accessible to all.