Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

“Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day, teach a man how to fish and you feed him for a lifetime.” This is a quote that we all have heard once in our life. The moral of the story is that capable people have a better arsenal of tools to deal with the daily problems in life. The prompt states that people that can’t afford to pay for a higher education should be able to study for free. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the statement and the reason are as follows.

To begin, there are a lot of good students that come from poor families and thus are not able to attend a university. This is contradictory to the idea that everyone has the right to study, it is the duty of government to give opportunities for every citizen to study and improve their quality of life. For instance, in Brazil there are scholarship programs that grant financial aid for students that clearly have no condition to pay for university tuitions. For those students that managed to pass on the selection for federal institutes, the scholarship not only pays the expenses of education but also give a monthly stipend. This way, students don’t need to work and study at the same time, helping them focus in their courses. This is a win- win situations for both, the financial program helps the needed student during a shorter period and the student can successfully get his diploma much faster.

Further, it is known that having a higher degree diploma goes together with better opportunities and better jobs. Statistically, a former student that came from poverty and now has a diploma and a stable salary can, in theory, continue in this path, supporting his family and the next generations to succeed. This is a smart way to incrementally removing people from poverty. The mayor of Sao Paulo, one of the most important cities in Brazil, came from a poor family, he lived in a small house in the suburbs with his brothers and his mother. He was always very smart and was always one of the top students in his class throughout all his early years of school. The president at the time created a program that helped poor student with scholarships, and he was one of the chosen in that time. He became a lawyer, a very successful one to be precise, and after years of hard work and dedication, became rich and started helping others. He expanded the program during his term in office, with thousands of students being helped by the government.

Of course, there are some negative aspects to the equations. A lot of bad students may wind up in the program, taking places that could be occupied by students that would benefit from the program. The scholarship program, mentioned above, has become an efficient way for poor students to enter universities, however, at the same time, the number of vacancies for the university stay the same. In other words, really good students that otherwise would be studying in prestigious universities are now unable to attend because of poor students that were pushed inside the universities by study quotas.

In conclusion, it is beneficial for society to have the government backing up students that are not able to pay for their high degree studies. But, with everything in life, there is always a ‘not so good’ side to the solution. The best that to resolve this is by equilibrium.