Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to university but who cannot afford the tuition.

As our society becomes more developed, people are worrying about whether the social hierarchical system becomes increasingly consolidated. In some developing countries, young people are less willing to have babies, which truly reflects their worries that the poverty will be passed on to the next generation. It goes without doubt that education is one the best tool to prevent a rigid social system.

It is true that more people will have the chance to become educated if the government were able to pay for the education expenses for students who cannot afford the tuition. As a consequence, we should expect more liquidity in the society. Education will provide a means for people to enter a higher class in the society. However, anything comes with a cost. If everyone could enter university free of cost, universities are expected to admit more students each year, and the quality of education will deteriorate as a result. Some classes, which are designed for a relatively smaller group of students, will be overcrowded. When we try to partition the limited education resources to a much larger group of students, each one of them will not be fully equipped. Take a university level biology class as an example, lectures are often complemented by lab sessions. Each of the lab, however, are limited in spaces and equipment. If we expect doubled students in the university registered for those courses, it will be highly likely that they will no longer be able to provide lab sessions for each of the students.

Instead of asking the government to fully sponsor each students who cannot afford the cost of education, a compromised plan could be proposed. Government supports could come in different forms, and offering free admission is only one of them. For instance, scholarships and government loans can be offered to those students who emerge from poverty. In terms of student work opportunities, some universities also give poor students priorities. Students who received help through these channels, are also stimulated to work much harder.

Education should not be conceived as “free lunch” but a cherished opportunity. Ideally, everyone should be given equal opportunity for receiving education. However, it will be too much of an idealism to expect this to be true in the real world. Having the government offering free education to all students is certainly not the best way. After all, the main responsibility of the government is to take actions that benefit the society as a whole.