Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

To keep the ethos of arts and its popularity among publics, it is often proposed that governments are expected to provide monetary assistance for practitioners of arts. While some opponents worried that official investments might hinder integrity fine arts. In my point of view, official assistance for artists can be both beneficial and harmful, and it is the governments’ responsibility to balance this trade-off: ideally, those artists who suffers from by poverty should receive prompt financial aids, while their right of performing independent composition should not be deprived of.

From the biographies of many famous artists, we could know that financial crisis is not uncommon during their lives: Tchaikovsky, one of the greatest Russian musician, suffered from poverty in his youth. After receiving assistance from some aristocrats in St.Petersburg, he obtained the wherewithal to compose some of his most significant masterpieces, including the 1812 Overture and the Nutcracker. On the other side of European continent, almost all Austrian musicians of the classical area, such as Mozart, Strauss and Schubert, were employed as court musicians sponsored by Austrian rulers. Without these official aids, despite their outstanding talent, those musicians were not even able to perform their compositions on instruments or orchestras.

Government fundings, if used to enhance the popularity of arts, would be very beneficial. Many European cities such as Paris, Rome and Barcelona build museums for various kinds of arts, providing people the convenience to access and get familiar with the beauty of these masterpieces. Large scale investment for arts also attracted a large group of artists, as well as young amateurs of fine arts, to settle down in these cities, thus forming many communities full of atmosphere of arts. Consequently, these towns became centres of arts and the aesthetic tastes of their residents become significantly better than those who live in cities where investments for arts are largely ignored.

On the other hand, however, as Voltaire and Rousseau emphasized during the French Revolution, under no circumstances should citizens be prevented from expressing their own thoughts, and composition, as an important approach for artists to express themselves, should keep independent as well. Under the authoritarianism of Soviet Union, Boris Pasternak, when received Nobel Prize for Literature in 1958, was forced to forgo the reward by Russian government, since his books revealed social issues in history of USSR. While his peer Russian artists who escaped from Russia before the revolution in 1917, such as Vladimir Nabokov and Serge Rachmaninoff, were able to have their compositions published and spread across the world without government censorship. If writers and musicians are forced to accept official sponsorship in exchange for insincere praise towards the rulers, the integrity of arts could hardly remain unthreatened.

By the reasoning and analysis above, governmental fundings cannot be overlooked to keep the profusion of arts. Meanwhile, if the independency and integrity of art composition are affected when governments provide sponsorship, the positive effect of these aids will be significantly undermined, or even become harmful.