The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

We are inundated in a world of a hodgepodge of opinions on various topics. When facing those endless contentions, some may find it reasonable to suggest that the hallmark of the best argument be the capability of its holder to persuade those opponents. This statement, feasible under certain circumstances notwithstanding, cannot be consolidated universally. Often, with time elapsed, it might turn out that the viewpoint once discarded by the majority into oblivion is actually the truth.

When doing scientific research or philosophical debate, we are encouraged to examine the reasoning process, evidence, or even the basic hypothesis of our opponents. In ancient Greece, Socrates had been tenaciously forcing his opponents to re-examine their views through a way called “method of elenchus”: that is, by generating an argumentative cooperative dialogue between two individuals, one can perform reflection on his/her idea as well as the proof. Socrates used this method to debunk many specious arguments fabricated by those “Sophists”, and from then on could the real philosophy develop and flourish in Athens. Similarly, when we look through the history of science, we can discover that the most enduring theories are often the winners in the debate among its contrasting views.

Nevertheless, when considering other empirical areas such as social science and politics, if two individuals differs from their premises on some issues, it is unlikely that they could convince each other, and in this case the best opinion should be examined through actions rather than words. Economists and government officers always debate over some economic policies e.g. raise of tax or issue of currency. Sometimes the suggestion from most eloquent pundit does not work well after implemented by government, since the real economic market is so complicated that any individuals cannot assert that they grip its intricate laws firmly. In this aspect, the famous quip “talk is cheap, show me the result” is not completely unfounded.

It is also worth noting that, although some arguments fail to convince most of its listeners currently, history tells us they enjoyed more longevity than their initially founded antithesis. When Michael Faraday invented his electromagnetic induction devices and urged the British government to invest on it, he was dismissed by the myopic parliament as well as most of the scientists and engineers at that time. It was only decades later, when the desire to find new source of energy went imperative, were researchers reminded of Faradays neglected theories and designs, which became the bedrock of the ensuing second industrial revolution. Eventually, time and down streaming applications, rather than any convincing evidence, saved Faraday’s efforts from oblivion.

By the analysis above, we can conclude that refuting contrasting views cannot always guarantee eternal soundness, especially for subjective topics. Moreover, the most convincing current statements may be discarded in the future, while those with relatively less supporters now could show more proximity to the truth.