94) The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A strong, effective leadership is a vital element to guarantee the prosperity of a nation as well as the happiness of its people. Some may argue that, the well-being of all citizens is the best test stone to evaluate the success of a government. This statement turns out to be valid under a peaceful world and democratic society, but some special cases also indicates that other factors may contribute to the success of those leaders as well.

In a democratic society, the happiness of all citizens must be put on the top priority of any rulers, since they are elected to represent the benefit of all. When the British government impose exorbitant taxes on the thirteen colonies in north America, the colonial citizens  boycotted with the famous slogan "no taxation without representation", since the British government simply treat the colonies as a market bumping their commodities to earn profits, while refusing to accept north American delegates into the parliament. Ignoring the privilege of colonial people eventually lead to the Revolutionary War and the independence of the United States. If the Westminster could realize that they ought to respect the rights of those from the colonies, the combat and revolt is unlikely to take place.

However, sometimes those shrewd, well-trained politicians would cater to the most popular social views by pretending that they are on behalf of all the citizens. During the US presidential election in 2016, both candidates from Democratic and Republican Party rendered unfriendly polices towards China, though most of those plans were not realized afterwards. The reason behind this duplicity is that by the investigations of their electoral team, the hostility towards seemingly threatening states like China is prevalent among US citizens. Therefore, it is not surprising that both parties chose to criticize China at the risk of cheating all the citizens.

Under some special circumstances, such as war and economic depression, a levelheaded, effective leader should not longer stick to maximizing the benefits of the majority. When Winston Churchill became the prime minister of UK during WWII, he implemented uncompromising policy towards the Nazi by suppressing prevalent favour of "policy of appeasement" across the nation. This strategy, though impinged the rights of many politicians as well as many British residents, finally lead to the victory over the Germany. When the nations is under a serious crisis like above, it is prescient and prudent for leaders to get rid of the myopic opinions of the majority for the sake of the nation.

By the analysis above, we can conclude that emphasizing the well-being of the citizens is not a panacea for governments. A wise ruler should adapt the policy according to the specific domestic and international situations to achieve the real effectiveness.