The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Merely based on groundless assumptions and plausible evidence, the statement draws a conclusion that the Monarch Books should open a cafe in its store. To justify this conclusion, the author indicates that the new cafe would attract more customers. Moreover, the author claims that space used for children’s book can be occupied to build cafe due to the decrease in percentage of children population. At first glance, this argument appears to be convincing, but further reflections reveals that it omits some substantial concerns that should be addressed to substantiate its reasonings. In my point of view, the author’s claim suffers from the following logical flaws:

The author proposes the advice by bridging the increase of customers with opening cafe. However, a concrete connection between the number of customers and new cafe is not effectively made. It might be the case that some people prefer a quite place to choose their favourite books, while introducing cafe areas would change this atmosphere. Additionally, the author plans to cut down the area for children’s books to open the cafe, since the proportion of children in national population is observed to be dropping. However, the scope of this statistics may be too large— when merely considering the region where the bookstore is located, the change of children population is unpredictable. Hence, once there’s less room for children’s books, the number of customers may even decrease.

Building upon the implication that its competitor benefited from opening cafes, the board of directors of Monarch suggests the company to follow the step. First of all, the proposition does not inform us that Regal Books gains more guests from opening new cafes, so the company should not blindly emulate this strategy. Moreover, even if Regal Books attracted more customers, the board of directors assumes, without justification, that the background conditions of these two bookstores are similar. There are likely all kinds of differences between these two competitors. For instance, the stores of Regal Books might be located in areas where people enjoy staying at cafe for reading, while the residents near Monarch’s stores may prefer reading at home. Any of these scenarios, if turns out to be true, would make the recommendation less persuasive.

By the analysis above, the author fails to substantiate that opening cafe would be beneficial, since the evidences cited in the justification do not yield strong support. To make the argument more convincing, the claimer is expected to provide more evidence that those potential customers really prefer a bookstore with a cafe. Moreover, the author need to demonstrate that opening cafe is unlikely to reduce the popularity of the bookstore among children, and the board also need to discriminate the differences between the conditions of Monarch and Regal Books. Without factors mentioned above, the argument is not reasonable and acceptable enough.