Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Science is the study of physical and natural world through observation and understanding it has in no doubt had a major positive contribution to man’s wellbeing and improvement. There has been a lot of positive changes about man right from the stone age to the classical era and to the present phase. I therefore strongly agree with postulation that Government should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development. I will give more explanations in subsequent paragraphs

To start with, science research has led to several discoveries that has been used to make inventions, which are utilized every day by millions of people and helps to make life more easier, it was the basic study and exploration of the mechanical and electrical laws by scientist such as Michael Faraday and Sir Isaac Newton that led to manufacturing of equipment such as automobiles before this invention man lived a peripheric life style in which he had to travel many distances on foot to eke out a living, this was not only stressful on his physic but also made achieving success in any endeavor very slow and daunting. Other equipment such as tractors where also produced which helped greatly with farmers to achieve better output in terms of quantity and quality of their products and gave their consumers more satisfaction with their purchase.

Furthermore, when there is enough support from the government with little or no restriction, adequate budget will be in place without which most scientist will not be able to make meaningful and timely progress in any research. For instance, adequate funding will enable more schools to be able to purchase the laboratory apparatus that will be used by students to carry out controlled experiments, which will allow them to gain insights on the relevant theories that they have chosen to work on. Also, when there is enough financial provision both government and school authorities will be able to search for and encourage very brilliant students to pursue scientific disciplines through sponsorship and various grants that will enable even pupils from poor or low-income families to study and make meaningful contribution to the society at large.

Finally, though few restrictions will help in making sure that science research is as ethical as possible and will deter people or countries from damaging activities such as prevention of massive production of nuclear weapons by North Korea, governments should give full support and enabling environment for the growth of scientific research and development.