The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The achievements of notable people who are usually well known are mostly a source of motivation to many people. It also has a significant impact in achieving a well-developed nation but it is by no means the standard by which a country’s overall performance can be based on. I strongly agree with the posit that a nations success cannot be epitomized on the triumphs and victories of its successful men and women but rather by the standard of living of the entire populace. The two subsequent paragraphs of this essay will throw more light on my point of view.

Firstly, many leaders and experts based on their high position in the society can easily access a nations financial asset and could amass wealth for themselves through illegal means or by exploitation of the people they lead. For instance, in some African countries like Nigeria the political class are generally wealthy due to prevalent corrupt practices of using money meant for infrastructural development to pursue selfish purposes. They also award contract to unqualified contractors based on mutual agreement of kickbacks. The outcome is such that the state of infrastructure is left in shambles which makes life more difficult for the common man, even though the politicians could afford to buy big houses or jets for themselves in the country or outside the country, the general state of affairs is still in poor taste.

Furthermore, talented citizens such as musicians, artist e.t.c in most countries are generally not up to one percent of the total populace, therefore there is no justification to use them as an indicator of a nation’s greatness. A good example are the famous musicians like Davido, Wizkid, Burma, Tiwa Savage and Yemi Alade all from Nigeria in west Africa, even though they are all very rich and widely known, in fact, Davido is the artiste with the highest number of followers on the Instagram social media, their affluence cannot by any means be used to portray the lives of other citizens who are over 200 million in number. Available statistic shows that Nigeria is still an under developing state with over 60% of people still living below the poverty line. This goes a long way to show that the achievements of few individuals can not be used to indicate the overall welfare of most people in a country.

Finally, even though the investments made by politicians and turnover of few artists can generate revenue for the nation, it however, cannot be sufficient for the economic growth needed to better the lots of the country men and women hence a nations greatness can only be based on the overall well being of the common man and not on the attainments of those of high calibers and inventors.