It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Man is by nature a social being with an innate desire to relate with other people especially those that they share the same ethics and value due to this fact it is common for individuals to associate with one social group or the other. However, I mostly disagree with the prompt that people define themselves mainly by the societal group that they belong to and will give more clarifications on my point of view in the next three paragraphs of this essay.

Firstly, people like to be seen as sociable and some others believe that by identifying with a certain group of people, they will be well accepted and protected in the society. For instance, a group such as COREN which is an acronym for Certified Organization of Engineers in Nigeria is comprised of different engineers that have met a criteria and define their capabilities with that criteria. Also, some cult members believe that by being a member of a cult they are beyond harm and each individual see themselves as some sort of mini deity . They will in one way or the other describe their personalities by identifying with these groups.

However, identifying with a group those not mean that is mainly the way most other people will define themselves because defining oneself cuts across a lot of values and the purpose of joining a social set is different from one person to another. For example, people are born into communities in which they have absolute no control on but growing up they realize that they do not agree with the values and way of life of the people in their environment because of this they might choose to migrate to other areas or continue to live there but abide by their own rules hence even though they identify with the community they do not define themselves primarily by it.

Furthermore, in today’s world it would be quite impossible not to identify with any social class, especially due to the fact that resources are scarce and many will need to leverage on technological breakthroughs like cloud computing to achieve cost effective business goals. This is exemplified by having to join an online portal that gives free access to relevant resources for some period of time, in as much as people are members of this group and might even have to communicate with themselves as the situation demands they will not mainly define themselves by belonging to that group.

Finally, defining oneself includes various attributes such as goals, aspirations, desires and religious propensity amongst others. Identifying with a social class might just be temporary action or to just fulfill an obligation and cannot be the primary way in which an individual defines his/her self.