As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Knowledge is acquired everyday directly through observations or indirectly through other means like even communicating with a friend, reading books, going to work e.t.c . The ability to comprehend and understand this acquired knowledge varies and mysterious. I mostly agree with the statement that the more we know the less we seem to understand even what we think we already know as they become more composite. The next two paragraphs will give more clarification to my point of view.

To begin with, many fields of study are wide and deep but we start learning from the rudiments of these topic by taking a narrow look and the introductory aspect which could make the topic look simple. For instance, when in secondary school pupils are introduced to subjects like integrated science and it seems it is well understood, on getting into senior secondary school, it is divided into biology, physics and chemistry and it makes the student marvel. As if that is not enough, on getting to university a choice has to be made between studying physics or chemistry and topics are further broken down into complex elements, this makes the student wonder if they will ever completely understand these courses. We still have not delved into studying the same course like physics at the doctorate level, hence people become amazed at a lot of assumptions that have been made and how much more research that needs to be carried out to perfect one’s knowledge.

Furthermore, based on religious sentiments man already had some set of beliefs that came through revered men of God or through the respected priest that is dedicated to their idols and any research that might prove otherwise will be resisted as it not only gets complicated for them it makes their deity seems to have less potency. For example, in the classical era man was made to first believe that the earth was a square in shape and that people lived inside the earth. The first set of scientists and philosophers like Sir Issac Newton and Aristotle to state that the earth was actually spherical in shape, that people lived on top of the earth and was held firmly to the surface by the force of gravitation were not only rebuffed but went through persecutions and some were even sentenced to death. Their new found knowledge made their perceived understanding of their environment more intricated and less unsure of what exactly they all know.

In conclusion, some people argue that more understanding is attained through acquiring more knowledge, however the everyday consequence of our assumptions is yet to be understood. Some deceases like cancer are as a result of global warming caused by mans activity and which we still do not have any means to eradicate hence the more information we get the more complex and puzzled we are.